Dourena Comparison

Native Pet vs. Zesty Paws

Two probiotic powders you add to your dog’s food. Native Pet uses four probiotic bacteria in a powder measured by scoop for your dog’s weight; Zesty Paws uses one bacterium and one yeast in a single-serve packet a day.

Shown alphabetically by brand. Nothing here is ranked.

The Difference at a Glance

Format

Native Pet:

Scoop

Powder measured from a container

Zesty Paws:

Packet

Pre-portioned single serve

How it’s measured

Native Pet:

By dog weight

Zesty Paws:

One packet daily

Probiotic types

Native Pet:

4 bacteria

Zesty Paws:

1 bacterium + 1 yeast

Native Pet

Native Pet Probiotic

Format: Powder in a container, measured by scoop (½ tbsp)

Checked against the manufacturer’s information

Researched October 2, 2026

Read full review of Native Pet ProbioticSee the research for Native Pet Probiotic

Zesty Paws

Zesty Paws Probiotic Powder for Dogs

Format: Powder in single-serve packets (2 g each)

Checked against the manufacturer’s information

Researched October 2, 2026

Read full review of Zesty Paws Probiotic Powder for DogsSee the research for Zesty Paws Probiotic Powder for Dogs

What matters to you?

Choose the features you care about to see which each product has.

Features

In detail

Key Differences

What’s different, shown side by side.

Format

Native Pet:

Powder in a container, measured by scoop (½ tbsp)

Zesty Paws:

Powder in single-serve packets (2 g each)

More strains does not by itself mean a product is more effective.

Native Pet:

4 

Four bacteria: Bacillus coagulans, Enterococcus faecium, Bifidobacterium animalis and Bifidobacterium bifidum

Zesty Paws:

1  + 1 

Two: Bacillus subtilis (Zesty Paws names the strain DE111) and Saccharomyces boulardii, a yeast

Published amount

A higher CFU count does not by itself mean a product is more effective.

Higher CFU counts alone do not necessarily mean greater health benefits (NIH Office of Dietary Supplements).

Native Pet:

6 billion per scoop

6 billion CFUs per scoop (½ tbsp) — the label’s total for the four-strain blend; it doesn’t list each strain’s amount

Zesty Paws:

800 million + 20 million per packet

800 million CFU Bacillus subtilis (DE111) + 20 million CFU Saccharomyces boulardii per 2 g packet

Serving guidance

Native Pet:

1 scoop per 50 lb of body weight

1 scoop per 50 lb of body weight (2 scoops over 50 lb), sprinkled over food; the label says daily or as needed

Zesty Paws:

1 packet a day

1 packet daily, sprinkled on top of food; the label gives no weight-based amount

and other plant ingredients

Native Pet:

Contains inulin: at least 315 mg per scoop

Organic inulin (label minimum 315 mg per scoop); also organic pumpkin seed

Zesty Paws:

Contains inulin: amount not stated

Inulin (amount not stated on the label); also flaxseed and pumpkin powder

In detail

Full Comparison

From each brand’s published information, as checked in Dourena’s research. “Not in our research” means we could not confirm it — not that the product lacks it.

Format

Native Pet:

Powder in a container, measured by scoop (½ tbsp)

Zesty Paws:

Powder in single-serve packets (2 g each)

More strains does not by itself mean a product is more effective.

Native Pet:

4 

Four bacteria: Bacillus coagulans, Enterococcus faecium, Bifidobacterium animalis and Bifidobacterium bifidum

Zesty Paws:

1  + 1 

Two: Bacillus subtilis (Zesty Paws names the strain DE111) and Saccharomyces boulardii, a yeast

Published amount

A higher CFU count does not by itself mean a product is more effective.

Higher CFU counts alone do not necessarily mean greater health benefits (NIH Office of Dietary Supplements).

Native Pet:

6 billion per scoop

6 billion CFUs per scoop (½ tbsp) — the label’s total for the four-strain blend; it doesn’t list each strain’s amount

Zesty Paws:

800 million + 20 million per packet

800 million CFU Bacillus subtilis (DE111) + 20 million CFU Saccharomyces boulardii per 2 g packet

Serving guidance

Native Pet:

1 scoop per 50 lb of body weight

1 scoop per 50 lb of body weight (2 scoops over 50 lb), sprinkled over food; the label says daily or as needed

Zesty Paws:

1 packet a day

1 packet daily, sprinkled on top of food; the label gives no weight-based amount

and other plant ingredients

Native Pet:

Contains inulin: at least 315 mg per scoop

Organic inulin (label minimum 315 mg per scoop); also organic pumpkin seed

Zesty Paws:

Contains inulin: amount not stated

Inulin (amount not stated on the label); also flaxseed and pumpkin powder

Other listed ingredients

Native Pet:

Dehydrated beef broth

Zesty Paws:

Silica aerogel; mixed tocopherols (listed as a preservative)

Flavor

Native Pet:

Beef broth

Zesty Paws:

Pumpkin

Package

Native Pet:

30, 60, 120 or 240 scoops

Zesty Paws:

30 sachets

Age guidance (brand-stated)

Native Pet:

Dogs over 3 months old

Zesty Paws:

No minimum age stated by the brand

Ingredient Watch

Native Pet:

Depends on Your Dog: beef

See Ingredient Watch for Native Pet
Zesty Paws:

Nothing on this ingredient list needed a note in our review.

See Ingredient Watch for Zesty Paws

Label statement

Native Pet:

A supplement,

Intended for intermittent or supplemental feeding only

Zesty Paws:

A supplement,

Intended for intermittent or supplemental feeding only

What They Share

  • Both are powders you sprinkle on food.
  • Both list inulin.
  • Both labels say they are intended for intermittent or supplemental feeding only.

Questions to Consider

Questions to help you think it through — Dourena doesn’t choose for you.

  • Would you rather measure scoops by your dog’s weight, or open one pre-portioned packet a day?
  • Is there a particular probiotic strain you are looking for, such as one your vet has mentioned?
  • Is your dog known to react to any of the listed ingredients?

Customer Rating

From approved customer reviews only — customers’ own experiences, separate from Dourena’s research.

Native Pet: 4.0(1)Customer rating 4.0 out of 5, from 1 customer review
Zesty Paws: 3.0(1)Customer rating 3.0 out of 5, from 1 customer review

Where to Buy

No prices are shown here. If you buy through a link marked “Paid link”, Dourena may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Other links earn nothing, and no link affects this comparison. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.